Reading the Women’s Prize Winners

My READ ALL THE SK project is just about finished — the only book I still have to read that was published before 2015 is Full Dark, No Stars. Then as far as I’m concerned, I’m “caught up” and can (finally) start reading the stuff he’s written in the last five years.

So I need another project to work on.

I’ve been meaning to read all of the Women’s Prize winners for some time now, but just haven’t gotten around to it. I’ve read a number of them already as part of my regular, non-project reading, though. Last night I was watching Simon Savidge’s YouTube channel, and he and his mum are doing just this — they are reading (or have read) all of the Women’s Prize winners and are going to talk about them on Simon’s channel over a number of weeks. The books they talked about last night sound SO GOOD. They made me want to start this project sooner rather than later.

In case you aren’t familiar with the Women’s Prize for Fiction…

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is the UK’s most prestigious annual book award celebrating & honouring women’s fiction.

Founded in 1996, the Prize was set up to celebrate originality, accessibility & excellence in writing by women and to connect world-class writers with readers everywhere.

Women’s Prize for Fiction website

This is the list of current prize winners:

  • 1996 — A Spell of Winter, Helen Dunmore
  • 1997 — Fugitive Pieces, Anne Michaels
  • 1998 — Larry’s Party, Carol Shields
  • 1999 — A Crime in the Neighborhood, Suzanne Berne
  • 2000 — When I Lived in Modern Times, Linda Grant
  • 2001 — The Idea of Perfection, Kate Grenville
  • 2002 — Bel Canto, Ann Patchett
  • 2003 — Property, Valerie Martin
  • 2004 — Small Island, Andrea Levy
  • 2005 — We Need to Talk About Kevin, Lionel Shriver (READ)
  • 2006 — On Beauty, Zadie Smith
  • 2007 — Half of a Yellow Sun, Chimamanda Ngoze Adichie
  • 2008 — The Road Home, Rose Tremain
  • 2009 — Home, Marilynne Robinson
  • 2010 — The Lacuna, Barbara Kingsolver (READ)
  • 2011 — The Tiger’s Wife, Tea Obreht (READ)
  • 2012 — The Song of Achilles, Madeline Miller (READ)
  • 2013 — May We Be Forgiven, A.M. Homes (READ)
  • 2014 — A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing, Eimear McBride (READ)
  • 2015 — How to Be Both, Ali Smith
  • 2016 — The Glorious Heresies, Lisa McInerney
  • 2017 — The Power, Naomi Alderman (READ)
  • 2018 — Home Fire, Kamila Shamsie
  • 2019 — An American Marriage, Tayari Jones
  • 2020 — ???

Looking at the list, I’ve already read seven of them (and LOVED three of those), and there are maybe four or five that I’ve had on my TBR list for what feels like forever. I’m looking forward to fitting the rest of them into my regular reading list (over the next couple of years, maybe, because we all know how that goes, heh).

Have you read any of the Women’s Prize winners? Are there any you suggest reading first?

8 thoughts on “Reading the Women’s Prize Winners

  1. Sounds like a great challenge! The only one I’ve read that you haven’t so far is An American Marriage, which I thought was very good and thought-provoking. I read a different Kamila Shamsie book years ago and was really impressed by it — look forward to hearing about Home Fires when you get to it. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.